The IBA has a typical organizational structure of a scientific association with participation of numerous reputable scientists from three continents.

Board of Directors

Boryann (Bor Yann) Liaw
James J. Greenberger
Dominique Guyomard
Minoru Inaba
Shirley Meng
Rosa Palacin
Martin Winter

Associate Directors

Robert Dominko
Maria Forsyth
Christopher Johnson
Christian Masquelier
Zempachi Ogumi
Venkat Srinivasan
Michael M. Thackeray
Xiao-Qing Yang
Yong Yang
Wonsub Yoon


Yong Yang President
Shirley Meng First Vice President and Treasurer
Christian Masquelier Second Vice President
Jim Greenberger Secretary and Assistant Treasurer 
Boryann (Bor Yann) Liaw Assistant Treasurer
Martin Winter Chairman of the Board

Award Committee

Boryann Liaw
Martin Winter, Chairman of Committee
Yong Yang

(Past) Chairmen

Martin Winter Chairman (since 2017)
Michael M. Thackeray Chairman Emeritus, Past Chairman (2014 to 2017)
Ralph Brodd Chairman Emeritus, Past Chairman (2000 to 2014)
M. Yamashita Past Chairman (1998 to 1999)
Ernie Yeager Past Honorary Chairman (1975 to 2002)
Akiya Kozowa Chairman Emeritus, Honorary Chairman and Founder (1975 to 2000)

(Past) Presidents

Rosa Palacin President (from 2022)
Chris Johnson Past President (2019 to 2021)
Dominique Guyomard Past President (2015 to 2018)
Bor Yann Liaw Past President (2013 to 2014)
Zempachi Ogumi Past President (2011 to 2012)
Martin Winter Past President (2007 to 2010)
Jürgen Besenhard Past President (2006 to 2007)
Rachid Yazami Past President (2003 to 2005)
Michael M. Thackeray Past President (2000 to 2002)
M. Yamashita Past President (1998 to 1999)
John Broadhead Past President (1996 to 1997)
Dom Swinkels Past President (1994 to 1995)
K. Fueki Past President (1992 to 1993)
Brooke Schumm Past President (1990 to 1991)
Frank Tye Past President (1988 to 1989)
Masaichi Nagayama Past President (1986 to 1987)
Akiya Kozawa Past President (1984 to 1985)